Bragging Rights

Okay I can’t help it.

I get bragging rights.

So last Tuesday I took the Drama Prince to his first obedience class.
He aced it.

If dogs could show off–I’m pretty sure he was strutting it.

While other dogs were leaping, barking and generally acting up, he laid quietly while I listened to instructions.

The instructor, Dorothy, started with “heel” so people could walk their dogs without ripping their armpits out, from week one.

One dog owner was seriously struggling with a leaping, joyous, overly friendly, Big Black Dog.

I really liked that dog. The sad part was that the owner looked defeated. Now her BBD did quite well for his first try. So, at the end I explained to her that the Drama Prince was much like that when I got him and if she stuck with it–BBD would soon improve. It didn’t seem to help.

I could see the problem. A slender, gentle, polite woman with 80lb 6 month exuberant puppy. Hopefully she’ll “firm up” and her BBD will calm down.

Mind you, Dear Reader–I “cheated”. When the instructor was talking, I stood on the Drama Prince’s leash much of the time as he laid there, so he couldn’t bounce around from distraction and I could pay attention without being distracted by him. By the time I “heeled” him–he’d already calmed himself from the long down.

Hahaha Dog Trainer trick 101. “Down” the dog, stand on the leash and the dog will create the pressure if it tries to move. It will also get bored and go to sleep, eventually.

The class was awed by the Drama Prince’s good manners.

Tonight is his next lesson. I assume it is “heel/sit”. He should ace that, as well.

Do you think I should “let the cat out of the bag” on this?

Leave a Reply

